Clearwater Mural, Day Nine: The Forces of Art and Nature

I triumphed over the forces of nature until around 11:30 this morning.  Then the rains turned the tide.

A little paint – a very cheerful yellow – was able to find its way onto the wall surface nonetheless.  Just one more piece of the puzzle in place.

Day Nine at the Clearwater mural by Tampa Bay artist, Ana Livingston

Some of the first hour was spent cleaning a section of the wall after the weekend’s beating by Tropical Storm Debby.  It’s amazing just how much plant debris can get plastered on a surface by wind and rain.

I did enjoy the swift winds when I first climbed into my nest around 8am.  Then the gusts grew to be so strong that I had to adjust my balance frequently.  I’m six feet tall and always have my feet planted firmly on the scaffolding, so that gives you an idea of the force.

I did love the wind for the most part today, not just for being itself, but for keeping the mosquitoes at home.  No artist on the menu this morning.

Today marks the second Monday I’ve been at the wall.  It seems hard to imagine next week’s Monday will fall in July.  Time has indeed flown.

I’m still on schedule, amazingly, even with starting a week late and a tropical storm to contend with.  My target for this week’s end is to have the entire mural surface covered with a new coat of paint.

Hopefully the last remnants of Debby have moved off and I can enjoy a full morning (sans rainfall) tomorrow.  I have so much to accomplish this week.

Until then…

~Ana

Leave a Reply

