Clearwater Mural, Day Sixteen: The Best Laid Plans…

Well, for today I had all sorts of marvelous plans of what I was going to pull off in the first three hours, but once I got my nose to the wall I realized that much of it needed a little sprucing up before the required layering I talked about yesterday.

It’s always best to make these types of large changes and additives at this stage of the process, and that fact coupled with the surface having the entire weekend to dry just made too much sense for me to do anything else.

I did tweak several other small things over the course of the day, but they would be detectable to only a few, so today’s progress photo really didn’t look much different than yesterday’s until I decided to take it from a different angle. 😉

The sixteenth day at the Clearwater Mural. Project being executed and chronicled by Tampa Bay Artist, Ana Livingston

Monday starts a whole new phase of the mural: the detail work (well, in addition to the remaining layering required). This is when concentration is key.

It was interesting to talk with one of the technicians today (at Honka Automotive, where the wall is,) as he thought I was on the last leg of the project and would be wrapping up next week. I told him that in actuality I was right around halfway. He was astonished. Yup, a lot left to be thought through and created.

I had over a half dozen friends stop by today, which was wonderful! Pretty soon I’m going to have to bring in some benches, set up a BBQ, and serve refreshments. Now, wouldn’t THAT be fun? 😀

I’ll be taking the weekend off, as usual, hanging up my superhero tights and being just me. I’m looking forward to it. In addition to “real life”, I do have two weeks of paint application to visualize before Monday morning rolls around and the paintbrush beckons.

I also wanted to state that I have thoroughly enjoyed the feedback I’ve received via emails, texts, on Facebook, my blog, in person, and elsewhere. It really feels like you’re all along for the ride and is so encouraging. 😀

Have yourself an excellent weekend—remember to have some fun!—and see you all on Monday!

~Ana

Leave a Reply

