Clearwater Mural, Day Nineteen: Blending and Boldness

Welcome, Friday the 13th—always a lucky day for me!  Today was so wonderful to be up painting with passersby shouting to me from their vehicles, “Looking great!” and “Beautiful!”  These remarks are SO encouraging! Thank you, all. 😀

When I first arrived this morning at the mural, I decided to just dive right in on the blending of the main sections of yellow and orange. I know many people were waiting for this moment as well. 😉

I still have the upper, can’t-quite-reach sections yet to do, plus several coats of additional layering, but so far, so good, yes?

Day Nineteen in the creation of the Clearwater Mural by Tampa Bay Artist, Ana Livingston

I worked on those two sections – back and forth – until the wall heated up to where the paint was no longer fluid enough to move around properly.

That brings up an interesting point, and one that many would not consider: The paint on the wall dries very quickly – oftentimes TOO quickly – due to the surface temperature of the wall itself. This coupled with the drying wind, makes it very interesting in one’s attempt to keep the paint sufficiently wet for blending.

I addressed some of the physical and environmental factors in Florida exterior mural painting in my earlier post, An Article on Endurance.  So, the above now stands as an additional example: if one hopes to do this type of paint blending during the summer months here on a wall situated as this one is, it must be done before about 10 o’clock in the morning.  Just a fact.

After the blending stage, I boldly scribbled in a few lines under my 40′ brown horizontal “stripe” on the wall and ascended the scaffolding to start applying more color.  Enough was added, I believe, so that there is not one remaining Pinellas County resident who has any doubt as to “what that stripe is”. 😀

Oh, yes: I met two very interesting people today. The first was another visual artist – the very first to come out to my project – by the name of Jon Lee. Very nice guy who is very interested in doing mural work in the area. We’ll be putting our heads together in the near future.

The other gentleman was Charlie Littlejohn. He’s lived in Dunedin all his life, and if his name sounds familiar, it’s because of the work he does in his community, in addition to being the husband of Susan Littlejohn, a very well-known and well-respected real estate broker here in Dunedin. Charlie and I had a very nice chat!

Well, once again I plan to take the weekend off.  I’m very excited about next week’s work at the mural, however; a lot of changes will be taking place!

Have an excellent two days off, everyone! Be sure to enjoy it with family and friends.

See you Monday!

~Ana

Daily Chronicle of the Clearwater Mural by Artist, Ana Livingston

Leave a Reply

