Clearwater Mural, Day Twenty: A Time for Details

Today marks the twentieth day since the morning I first drove into the parking lot of Honka Automotive and took a pencil to the bright white surface of this soon-to-be Clearwater mural. Time has flown!

I actually did the math rapidly in my head: I only work in the mornings/early afternoons, put in an average of around 5 hours each time I’m at the wall, so that equates to roughly 100 hours, or only 4 full days that I’ve been painting.  Again, amazing!

When I arrived early on this 20th day, I had a mental list of all I wanted to get done and in what order, and promptly tossed it aside. I went to the complete opposite end of the mural and started there. Spontaneity, you know? 😀

Day Twenty at the Clearwater Mural at Honka Automotive on Court Street. By Artist, Ana Livingston

So, to begin, I roughed in some palm trees and a bit of roadway. I then filled in a couple of needed second coats in several areas, as well as adding some touch-ups here and there.

Oh, yes! I had another fine artist stop by my worksite today: prominent Venezuelan artist, Salas Davila.  He was a bright and bubbly gentleman who could not speak English, and I very little Spanish, but we ended up having a nice conversation anyway. 😀

Salas is an internationally-recognized figure in the arts, and I was very happy to make his acquaintance. He currently resides here in Clearwater, and is excited about creating and displaying his art in this area.  My best wishes to his continued success!

And, as far as all the other individuals who are making a positive effect on me and my work, I would be incredibly remiss if I didn’t acknowledge my family and close friends, in addition to all my many friends on Facebook, my blog, etc., who daily leave me the most fantastic comments.  Thank you.  😀

Ok! More changes to be occurring at the wall tomorrow, so once again, nice to have you along for the journey and see you then!

~Ana

Official Ana Livingston Website

The Making of a Mural Website




2 thoughts on “Clearwater Mural, Day Twenty: A Time for Details

  1. It’s great to see this article. I am one of Salas Davila’s son. Indeed, my dad has a career in art for over 35 years. Studied, graduated in Spain and Italy and with exhibitions in many countries in Europe and Latin America. I am currently helping him find an art dealer or agent that can help launch his work in the US. If you know of any one or any tips on how to connect with the right people, feel free to let me know. Thanks Ana and great work on the mural. Beautiful colors !

    Alex Salas
    Bralles@yahoo.com

    Like

    • Very nice to meet you, Alex, and thank you for the kind remarks.

      Your father is a bright, beautiful man as well as being an accomplished artist. If I hear of any opportunities that would assist him in his success here in America, I will definitely let you know!

      ~Ana

      Like

Leave a Reply

