The Sleeping Giant Awoke

Well, I’m back.

It’s odd to think that those three little words are the first line of my long-overdue post while simultaneously being the last line of a long, yet very epic novel (spoiler alert for that link). At any rate, it’s been awhile, eh? Probably 3 months. And I’ve missed you. 🙂

I have been wrapped up in this and that, and well…you know how life goes. In deciding the content for my first post in so many months, I thought of my time in Hawaii so many years go.

I had just graduated high school at age 17, my step-grandfather had passed away, and I was asked by my grandmother to accompany her (with parental permission) to Hawaii that next winter. My family and I were living on the west coast at that time, and I had always wanted to experience the islands; all the while growing up they seemed so close but at the same time a million miles away. Now my dreams were to become reality.

Winter came and I found myself boarding my very first airplane to a new world. We left a frozen land, crossed an endless sea, and ultimately landed in an oasis of sun, fun and surf. The two of us then proceeded to travel the normal tourist route of shops, hotels and marketplaces in bustling multi-cultural Oahu.

I have to admit that Oahu—or The Gathering Place— being the busiest and most tourist-friendly of the islands, did not resonate with me. After due time I was happy to find myself finally climbing a tarmac staircase onto a rickety puddle jumper destined for Maui.

Now, this was many years ago, mind you, and probably at least 2 dozen major hotels have since been built on the leeward side of the Valley Isle, and built in what I remember as being “nothing more” than pineapple and sugar cane fields at the foot of the West Maui Mountains. In those days it was a magnificent sight and one I never grew tired of.

west-maui-mountains-hawaii-ana-livingston-fine-artist-muralist-tampa-bay

The West Maui Mountains back when pineapple and sugar cane fields ruled the shorelines.

After the Maui experience we flew up to the northernmost island, Kauai. The Garden Isle, at that time, was scarcely populated and I recall there being a building restriction in place: a maximum of 5 stories. Consequently, it kept the hotel chains to the bigger islands and the result on Kauai was that you were surrounded by the native culture, which I had come to love.

wailua-river-kauai-hawaii-ana-livingston-fine-artist-muralist-tampa-bay

I stayed in a hut on the Wailua River. Banana trees grew in the front “yard” which seamlessly merged with the shoreline.

For a short time I stayed in a very small cabin on the Wailua River. This was a calm and quiet time, and I somehow escaped ever viewing the boat that would take sunburned tourists up the river to see the famed Fern Grotto.

fern-grotto-wailua-river-kauai-ana-livingston-fine-artist-tampa-bay

The famous lava-rock grotto covered with hanging ferns otherwise known as the Fern Grotto. Kauai, Hawaii.

I was more content to pick ripening bananas off the trees by the shoreline or crossing over the road and down the hill to collect shells on the beach by Kapaa Town. And then, there were always the moonrises…

kapaa-town-moonrise-kauai-hawaii-ana-livingston-fine-artist-muralist-tampa-bay

Moonrise on the shore of the Wailua River. Otherworldly, to be sure.

Kauai is known for many things, one of them being the mountain range that serves as the resting place for the mighty Sleeping Giant (Nounou Mountain). As Hawaiian legend goes, the giant (after much labor or overeating….or both,) laid down on the mountain ridge and never again rose.

sleeping-giant-kauai-hawaii-ana-livingston-fine-artist-tampa-bay

This island also holds the record as having one of the rainiest spots on Earth: Mount Waialeale (Hawaiian: overflowing water). Rain has fallen more than 340 days within a single year here, and has at least once accumulated close to 700 inches of annual rainfall. The result is endless green.

wall-of-tears-waialeale-kauai-ana-livingston-fine-artist-muralist-tampa-bay

The “Wall of Tears”: a mountainside in the crater atop Mount Waialeale, Kauai.

It’s interesting that I recalled these memories today, and perhaps even more interesting to me that I decided to share them. Simply put: Hawaii was a life-changing experience for me all those many years ago. It was there that I decided what I wanted to be in life—truly.

Is that to say I haven’t taken a detour now and again? No. But at least I knew when I had wandered, and which was the right path when I’d finally made my way out of the wilderness.

Well, I’m back.

~Ana

14 thoughts on “The Sleeping Giant Awoke

  1. This island looks beautiful, loved “Moonrise on the shores of the Wailua River”, and the “Wall of Tears”. Thanks for your ‘like’ on my blog, and I shall be back to check out some more of your posts.

    Like

  2. Hey Ana, thanks so much for coming by to like my last post and follow my blog at Backyard Philosophy. I really appreciate it. This is a really beautiful post–pictures, writing, and story. I’m glad you found what you wanted to be in life. That’s such a hard question!

    Keep up the writing and living. Cheers.
    –Brett

    Like

    • Hi Brett!
      You are very welcome and I thank you for your kind comments. Yes, I believe there are some who have never experienced the luxury of knowing who they truly are and what they are destined to create in life.

      Like

  3. Thank you for liking and following my post. Oaxaca, Mexico, is a wonder of many types of artistry…weaving, pottery, wood carving, and murals.

    Your photos and writing are quite beautiful, and I look forward to more. In the early 1970’s I lived in Madeira Beach, FL, right by the bridge. I recently visited a friend who lives in the area, and we went by my old neighborhood. Of course it was unrecognizable, but my neighbor’s old house was still there. It had been transformed into a little fish house restaurant, so of course we enjoyed lunch there!

    Like

    • Hello Marilyn! Thank you for the note. Yes, I agree, there are many wondrous areas of Mexico.
      I am glad you got an opportunity to come back for a visit here. It’s amazing how some places completely change while others seem to be stuck in time.
      I look forward to your future blog posts and we’ll chat again then!
      ~Ana 🙂

      Like

  4. On my one and only trip to the islands about 15 years ago I stayed only on Kauai, it made such an impression that I still remember everything I saw quite clearly even after all that time. I have 1/4 of an adventure novel written that is set there…one of these days I’ll finish it. Thanks for the lovely photos and the story as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

