New Clearwater Mural Website by Fine Artist, Ana Livingston of Tampa Bay

Good morning, all!  I hope you are enjoying your Sunday, as I am.  I just wanted to stop in and give you an update on my mural-related activities.

I’m not a website designer by any stretch of the imagination, but just as I approach many things in life: “something is only unknown until you know it.”  So, in wanting a more comprehensive representation of my mural on the web, it required me to quickly learn the basics.  The result—www.clearwatermural.com—provides a chronological slideshow plus more information on the making of the “Clearwater Mural” here in sunny Clearwater, FL.  I will add more informational tidbits and photos as the website grows.

ClearwaterMural.com – the new website featuring the chronological painting process of the Clearwater Mural by Fine Artist Ana Livingston of Tampa Bay.

As mentioned on the website as well as in this blog, painting the mural was a 45-day process—from the preliminary sketching to the final strokes of signing my name.  The reason for this extended amount of time was the intense heat, humidity and sunshine during the summer months here in subtropical Florida.

The surface I used was the west-facing wall of Honka Automotive (1266 Court Street). This meant I had until around noon or 12:30pm each day before the sun crested the roofline and I would be in complete sunlight.  At this point it was impossible to work, not just due to it being insufferable for the human body, but because the paint would literally dry on my brush.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, “An Article on Endurance“, there are many factors on exterior mural painting in extreme climates that most people would never consider.  Just the sheer heat itself emanating from the wall is incredible; that coupled with the direct summer sunlight make it a furnace.

But these, quite simply, are nothing more than small, negative facets of the mural-painting game.  The goal is to overcome them and create as close to your vision as possible.  I feel I did this.

I had someone ask me yesterday if I learn things from my projects.  Absolutely.  Above all I gain a broader understanding of myself, aesthetics, and the human spirit.  I acquire a deeper discernment of all the good in others, in myself, and how the beautiful effects we create in the world are reflected and magnified in others.

And what could be a grander lesson than that?

~Ana
www.clearwatermural.com

4 thoughts on “New Clearwater Mural Website by Fine Artist, Ana Livingston of Tampa Bay

    • Thank you, Allison! I appreciate your comment as there were certainly days when I was so exhausted that blogging was about the furthest thing from my thoughts. 🙂

      I love the fact that you’ve shared this with other artists; it’s always been a dream of mine to travel to other cities, other countries, and band groups of artists together and create beautiful murals throughout all the major cities.

      Wouldn’t that be wondrous?

      ~Ana

      Like

Leave a Reply

